Using Cloud To Practise Programming

Coding on the cloud

Using Cloud To Practise Programming

Using a Raspberry Pi to learn and practise Python is a great way to start an awesome coding journey. However, there is a catch. You are limited by the storage space on your Pi.

Pi is a great computing platform but because of space limitation and the hassle of installing numerous packages that you may not use regularly, you begin to look for alternatives. Especially when new versions of packages keep coming. Here comes the cloud to the rescue.

Switching over to a cloud platform you will benefit from both the worlds - you continue to work on the Pi and continue your practice without the constraints of space, and the need to keep up with package installations.

I started learning Data Science and needed a workhorse. I went window shopping on the internet and found that there are a few cloud platforms offering private and public slots for individuals and small teams. All for free! I love that word - F R E E !!

I signed up on kaggle.com and started my journey. I got Jupyter Notebook, 5GB of space and the facility to work collaboratively with others if required. Since then, I didn't look back. My account is backed by a powerful computing platform, ample storage and not only I can collaborate but also download and share my notebooks!

Jupyter Notebook is a versatile programming environment. You can choose to practise from a host of programming languages, such as Python, Java, R, Julia, Matlab, Octave, Scheme, Processing, Scala, and many more. If you are like me, a tech enthusiast, you may dabble in more than one language.

Enjoy programming in the cloud!